Talking heads don’t need to think

Posted: 08/21/2014 in Screwed
Tags:

The word in the Village is that David Gregory is leaving “Meet the Press” and being replaced by Chuck Todd from MSNBC’s “The Daily Rundown.”  Frankly I stopped watching “Meet the Press” ages ago, even before Gregory came on board in 2008.  I doubt that he is the only reason the show went from first to last place in the ratings after he took over, but he certainly helped.  Their insistence on constantly booking the same half-dozen Republicans and virtually no Democrats was a big part of their plummet to the basement, and you really can’t blame that sort of policy decision-making on the talking head.

However, I could never stand to watch David Gregory in any role, so I don’t see this as any great loss to television.  Well, other than the four million dollars that NBC reportedly paid Gregory to buy out the last year of his contract just to get him off the air.  Even talking television dollars, I still see that kind of money as a great loss.  (I wish someone would make me that offer!)

I’m not quite sure of whom Gregory reminds me, but I’ve got a nagging feeling it’ll come to me eventually.

Be seeing you.

Comments
  1. PiedType says:

    I think the major downfall or shortcoming of all the political talk shows and interviews is that they keep talking to the same group of people, over and over and over. I’d like to hear some thoughts from some of the lesser knowns in Washington. Why not? They were duly elected; they have opinions too. By now we all know all too well what John McCain (for example) thinks. Why fill air time by asking him again and again?

    • Number VI says:

      Because…..uh….do you have any idea how difficult it is to keep EVERYbody on the same script? It’s hard enough to get those half-dozen to toe the line!

      😯

Reply here if you must

